Printz Award 2011

Last week Monday the American Library Association made their highly anticipated announcement of the youth media awards.  I say “highly anticipated” because as librarians, especially those of us that work with youth and teens, we have been speculating possible winners for months.

One of the awards that was announceed was the Michael L. Printz Award, which is given for excellence in literature written for young adults.  The 2011 Printz Award winner is (drum roll please….) Ship Breaker by Paolo Bacigalupi.  You can click here to see the author talk about his book.

Four Printz Honor Books were also named: Stolen by Lucy Christopher, Please Ignore Vera Dietz by A.S. King, Revolver by Marcus Sedgwick, and Nothing by Janne Teller.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s